Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Rock upgrade froze my iPhone

Default Rock upgrade froze my iPhone
    Hope someone can help. I have a 3G jailbroken and unlocked phone. Following an upgrade to Rock my phone is stuck and shutting off at the Apple logo. I have no saved info at the Cydia site. I need the unlock to use this Rogers phone on my Bell network. Do I have any hope of using this phone?

iPhone? More like MyPhone
    Thanks

Did you try turning it off?

I think press power button and square button till it shuts off, though i am not an expert....

I should clarify that I can get it to go into Restore mode and iTunes will recognize it. I knpow I can no longer have Apple do a 3.1.2 restore and if I let it do the 3.1.3 restore I believe I can no longer use it as an unlocked AND jailbroken phone.

Livin the iPhone Life
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by dadacamp View Post
    I should clarify that I can get it to go into Restore mode and iTunes will recognize it. I knpow I can no longer have Apple do a 3.1.2 restore and if I let it do the 3.1.3 restore I believe I can no longer use it as an unlocked AND jailbroken phone.
    You can restore to 3.1.2 just fine. The firmware signing is only for 3GS phones and the new ipts.

Download the 3.1.2 firmware, put the phone in DFU mode and then shift-restore in iTunes, pointing to the downloaded firmware.

5. The Following User Says Thank You to dhamien For This Useful Post:

dadacamp (2010-05-06)

Thanks dhamien. Will this restore still leave me with an unlocked phone? It was unlocked to allow me to use a Rogers locked phone on the Bell network in Canada. And how much of my old data like apps and Notes, etc. be saved? Sorry to seem so unsure but I have real fears of putting this phone into a state of unusability!

Livin the iPhone Life
    Thanks