Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: I'm new to the iPhone and I restored it using iTunes, now my SIM card won't work.

Default I'm new to the iPhone and I restored it using iTunes, now my SIM card won't work.
    This god damn phone is such a pain in the ***. I'm seriously regretting buying one. It's one of the old 4Gigabyte internal memory version. I have no idea if it's 1g/2g/3g/4g/6g etc.

Since this POS phone won't even let me check what version it is, how can I know what jailbreak version I need to download and run.

Can anyone please offer me some guidance? It used to work perfectly until I restored it in iTunes.

Thanks

Thanks

What's ur carrier?

It's a first generation 4gb

Hi there.

I live in Bolivia and I was using Tigo SIM card. It worked perfectly. When I did the iTunes restore function it doesn't detect the SIM card as valid.

Thanks

when u updated it in iTunes did u update to 3.1.3...if so use redsn0w 0.9.2 to jailbreak...if it has the silver back with black at the bottom it is a 2g iPhone...download an official 3.1.2 ipsw for it from the download section of this site and run redsn0w and point it at the 3.1.2 ipsw when it asks for it even though u are jailbreaking 3.1.3

5. The Following User Says Thank You to j3st3r For This Useful Post:

papuccino1 (2010-04-26)

Thanks! That sounds like a very simple guide to follow!

Quick question: Is there ANY chance I can brick/compeltely and irrevokably break my iPhone if I do this? (For example, if the ipsw file I download is corrupt.)

Quote Originally Posted by papuccino1 View Post
    Thanks! That sounds like a very simple guide to follow!

Quick question: Is there ANY chance I can brick/compeltely and irrevokably break my iPhone if I do this? (For example, if the ipsw file I download is corrupt.)