Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Recenly Jailbroke - Questions regarding Cydia and Apps

Default Recenly Jailbroke - Questions regarding Cydia and Apps
    Hi everyone - I recently jailbroke my 3GS running 3.1.2 using Redsn0w. I'm new to jailbreaking, as I have not done it before, and did a LOT of research beforehand, as I didn't want to screw anything up. Things have been running smoothly, however, I have a few questions. I've searched here and haven't found direct answers yet.

1) Why does Cydia take so long to load? When I start it, I get the following - "Loading Data", "Downloading Release", "Downloading Packages", then it loads, but the message "Reloading Data". It seems to take a long time to load (3 minutes on WiFi, longer on 3G). I'm wondering what all these messages mean, and if there is a way to make it load faster. I recently updated Cydia, as recommended, but it doesn't seem to have changed anything.

2)I added the Elegance Pro theme, and later deleted it, and Winterboard as I didn't use it much. I noticed that the main "theme" file is still there, along with the icons folder, even after deleting it. Why was this not deleted with the uninstall, and is it safe to delete manually?

3) Do other jailbroken apps leave "traces" behind when I uninstall? As a Windows/PC user, I've noticed the same thing when I uninstall software on my PC.

Thanks for the help! I don't have the strong technical background that many here have, but I've tried to rely on searching as much as possible. There is a lot of good info here!

My iPhone is a Part of Me area51crypto's Avatar
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Bill1975 View Post