Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: iPhone 2G 'bricked'?

Unhappy iPhone 2G 'bricked'? - 3.1.3 stuck on emergency call screen
    Hi, All.

I've spent the past few hours researching my problem, but I've failed to find someone with the same SKU/firmware/usability combination. Please forgive my general ignorance, I'm still a newb.

Background: I purchased my 2G 4GB about two years ago; it was jailbroken and unlocked at firmware level 2.X.X. I updated the firmware once about a month into my ownership; that lost me Cydia, but the phone remained unlocked and worked perfectly.

About a month ago, as I noticed I couldn't download any of the new 3.0-level apps from the App Store, I decided to upgrade to the current firmware at the time (3.1.3?). I did some looking into the matter, and didn't read about any problems with the 2G, so I went ahead with the update (I should have paid closer attention to these forums).

Two days ago, the problem revealed itself after a friend turned the phone off. When it was powered back on, the screen displayed this:

I tried the following how-to to get it back, following the instructions for the 2G:
    Tutorial: Unlock iPhone 3.1.2 with BlackSn0w

Upon rebooting, however, I'm returned to the same screen. I can receive calls, and I can dial any number, but can't access anything else.

I've noticed I may have an option with redsn0w to return the phone to firmware 3.0, using this process:
    Tutorial: iPhone 2G Unlock Using RedSn0w

Unfortunately, I haven't backed up my user data recently using iTunes . If I do attempt the redsn0w process of entering DFU and returning to 3.0, can I expect this to work? Will I, indeed, lose all my user data (pictures, SMS history, contacts not on SIM, paid apps, etc)?

Any help you can offer is greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by VanFab; 2010-03-26 at 08:30 PM.

Retired Moderator
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,202 Times in 1,924 Posts