Results 1 to 8 of 8

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.


Thread: OK I got a question

  1. #1
    Default OK I got a question
    I was thinking of downgrading my iPod Touch to an earlier firmware so it wouldn't be tethered since I only have access to my computer sometimes. But if I restore it I'll lose all my Cydia apps, I downloaded AptBackup but since my backup is of a 3.1.2 iPod Touch, I was wondering if when I restored a backup if it would re upgrade it again. Can anyone help me out?

  2. #2
    Livin the iPhone Life Simtech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    2,387
    Thanks
    105
    Thanked 304 Times in 276 Posts

    You can't do anything to get rid of a tethered jailbreak. The bootrom is a physical chip in the iPod, not firmware related.

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Simtech View Post
    You can't do anything to get rid of a tethered jailbreak. The bootrom is a physical chip in the iPod, not firmware related.
    I thought the tether was because of me jailbreaking it through blackra1n? So restoring won't get rid of the tether?

  4. #4
    Livin the iPhone Life Simtech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    2,387
    Thanks
    105
    Thanked 304 Times in 276 Posts

    Restoring will get rid of the tether and the jailbreak. So if you are ok with the ipod being stock firmware, then yes.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Simtech View Post
    Restoring will get rid of the tether and the jailbreak. So if you are ok with the ipod being stock firmware, then yes.
    OK, but if I restore it to an older firmware, then restore a backup of a newer firmware, will the iPod be on the older or newer firmware?

  6. #6
    Retired Moderator battlecrushr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Houston follow @al_da_beast
    Posts
    7,940
    Thanks
    273
    Thanked 1,034 Times in 956 Posts

    u mean if to say u were onn 3.1.2 and u backed up ur apps
    and then u went back to 3.0 then restored ur apps back what firmware would u be on?
    if so, still 3.0

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to battlecrushr For This Useful Post:

    IllWill894 (2010-03-21)

  8. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by battlecrushr View Post
    u mean if to say u were onn 3.1.2 and u backed up ur apps
    and then u went back to 3.0 then restored ur apps back what firmware would u be on?
    if so, still 3.0
    OK Thanks!

  9. #8
    I don't think 3.1.2 backups are compatible with 3.0. I'm not positive though, just seems like I read that somewhere. The way around that is to use pkgbackup instead of aptbackup. Only thing is pkgbackup costs money. $3.49 US I think. But it stores the info in a contact, so all you have to do is sync contacts. No relying on a backup.

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •