Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Unlocking/Jailbreaking on locked iPhone 3GS ver. 3.1 not 3.1.2

Cool Unlocking/Jailbreaking on locked iPhone 3GS ver. 3.1 not 3.1.2
    So will this unlock a currently locked iphone version 3.1 3GS?(Dev Team's pwnage tool version 3.1.4). If so I'll need to find a friend who owns a Mac I guess. What about all that ECID SHSH stuff? Does that info need to be "captured" on saurik's server still? What is the difference between George Hotz and Dev Team's besides one being for Mac OS X and one for Windows? Is it that the Dev Team is an unlock and the blackra1n is a jailbreak? In reading the posts I gather that your phone has to be unlocked already for the pwnage tool to work and if you currently have a locked iphone this isn't going to work? If it's incapable of being unlocked is it still capable of being jailbroken? Please understand that I'm new to the iphone scene and if these questions seem dumb please grant me a little slack.
    Thanx.

You should be able to use blackra1n to jailbreak. No unlock possible. Your phone doesn't have to be unlocked to load a custom 3.1 firmware from PwnageTool, but it does have to be jailbroken already as far as I know.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to L00i3 For This Useful Post:

His Nibs (2009-10-15)