Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: 3GS Jailbreak Help

Question 3GS Jailbreak Help
    I need help jailbreaking my 3GS. I'm new to the world of jailbreaking. I am still running 3.0.1. There is a lot of information to process and I don't understand it. I've read that I need to capture some signature or something to be able to jailbreak in the future? I read on the dev team's blog that the new pwnage tool is only for MAC...is there a way to jailbreak on the PC? Please tell me how to get from 3.0.1 non jailbroken to 3.1 JB. I would really appreciate it. Talk to me as if I'm retarded please.

Thanks

Don't worry about capturing those file, it's too late for 3.0 anyway.
    You probably need to just jailbreak now and not upgrade to 3.1 just yet.

Follow these instructions:
    iClarified - iPhone - How to Jailbreak Your iPhone 3GS on OS 3.0.x Using RedSn0w (Windows)

Well if I could get ahold of a MAC, I could do it?

Thanks
    Thanked 1,681 Times in 1,159 Posts

Redsn0w is for Mac and Windows.

Thanks

It says "For Windows" in the title...

Redsn0w is only for 3.0 though .

Thanks

Read the instructions.
    Download 3.0 firmware and point to that file during the process.

But then are you really running 3.1 firmware?

What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks
    hey everyone i have a new awesome (if it were jailbroken) 3gs ootb 3.1fw YAY