Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: 3G iPhone Questions

Default 3G iPhone Questions
    I bought a 3G iPhone 16gb off ebay that had the factory 3.1 firmware on it. I downgraded it to 3.0 and jailbroke it with redsn0w and then unlocked it with ultrasn0w. I put in my girlfriend's Centennial sim card and all I got was searching and then no service. I'm completely new to this so I'm really confused. I ran some Fuzzyband app and it said that the bootloader is 06.02 and the baseband is 05.11.07. Is there anything I can do to get service or am I screwed until something new comes out?

Thank you for any help.

Thanks
    Thanked 12,540 Times in 7,596 Posts

Welocome to MMi,
    Yup, your screwed, at least for now unless a unlock becomes available for that baseband. Downgrading only changes the software not the baseband.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Bo Troxell For This Useful Post:

NewoIkkin2113 (2009-09-30)

Thanks for the input. If I were to get AT&T service would it work with that? And could I get a plan without all the required iPhone stuff on it?

Thanks

Sure it will work with AT&T and you will be able to jailbreak it still but we're not sure if it will ever be able to be unlocked once the baseband has been upgraded.

So what you're saying is that since my baseband is upgraded that AT&T may be my only option ever? I'm on verizon and I bought the phone so I could switch to a gsm carrier and use it.

Thanks

Well yes, there may be an unlock at some time, but most say it will not happen. We can only hope.

Looks like I'll be headed in to get an AT&T plan sometime this week then. I wish I would've checked with the seller and made sure it wasn't on 3.1 when I bought it. So if I go get a plan with AT&T I can just pop the sim card in and it will work? Sorry for all the q's I'm completely new to iPhone stuff.

Livin the iPhone Life CaptainChaos's Avatar
    Thanks