Results 1 to 3 of 3

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.


Thread: "Set up as new" question

  1. #1
    Default "Set up as new" question
    Ok, so the dev team has said numerous times that when you upgrade a jailbroken device (such as 3.0 to 3.1) that when the phone is restored it is best to set up as a new phone instead of using the itunes backup.

    Through my research it seems like doing so will not restore such things as the camera roll, sms's, etc. Question is, what all isn't carried over when the phone is set up as new? And what is the easiest way to backup/restore these items?

  2. #2
    Community Manager Bo Troxell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
     Valley of the Sun, ARIZONA ♥♥♥
    Posts
    35,196
    Thanks
    5,590
    Thanked 12,540 Times in 7,596 Posts

    Here are a couple threads that should help you.
    http://modmyi.com/forums/general-iph...elatively.html
    http://modmyi.com/forums/general/381...ken-phone.html
    ^even tho this references pwnage it is the same principle.

  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Bo Troxell For This Useful Post:

    allanes5 (2009-09-11), brentbizzle (2009-09-10)

  4. #3
    Awesome. I had SSH's into my phone before to see where those items were kept and it never occurred to me that they were all in the user folder.

    Thanks for the fast response!

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •