Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: unactivated AT&T 3G iPHONE, activate before jailbreak????

Default unactivated AT&T 3G iPHONE, activate before jailbreak????
    Dear anybody who knows more about this than me, so about 6billion people then...

I've got a shiny new iphone sitting on my table but i can do anything because i can't activate it, PLEEEEEEEEEEEEEEASE help me...

OK, my girlfriend brough me her dads brand new 'just outa-the-box' iphone upgrade from the states (i live in Italy) 8GB 3G, should be with AT&T..

I plugged it into itunes8, but the AT&T page appears and it wants all her dads verification info like billing address and national security number which obviously i don't want to do, for his sake...

So i guess i have to do a 'crack' registration, then 'jailbreak' it and then unlock it for use in Italy with my Vodafone sim????

Im really new to this so laymans terms would be fantastic if sometime has a few minutes spare me..
    Someone's already told me to 'jailbreak it with redsnow, but i don't see how i can do that before the phone has actually been activated..

Any kind of help & suggestions will be greatly appreaciated, sorry if it sounds anal, but everyone was a beginner once!!!

My operating system is windows if that makes any difference..

Taa very much..

aL<<

Retired Moderator
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,202 Times in 1,924 Posts

Just restore the phone in iTunes and set the phone up as new. If you can't even get to that part...jailbreaking it should be fine whether it's activated or not. The jailbreak will activate the phone (it won't give you any signal because it's an AT&T phone and it's not unlocked yet) but you won't be stuck on the "slide for emergency" screen anymore.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to i.Annie For This Useful Post:

S11DJ (2009-08-31)

Thanks
    Thanked 12,540 Times in 7,596 Posts

My suggestion would be to run redsn0w to hacktivate it and the install ultrasn0w to unlock.