Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Help re Quickpwn Fuzzyband Yellowsn0w Method

What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

Default Help re Quickpwn Fuzzyband Yellowsn0w Method
    [Edit: Probably should've posted in the iPhone unlocking - activation thread, but I don't know how to move it]

Hello all. I'm new to jailbreaking/unlocking and this forum and would appreciate any help. I plan to travel from US to UK for a week, and want to unlock my iPhone and buy a prepaid UK SIM (e.g., for the O2 or 3 networks or whatever) when I get there and use it for both voice and 3G data.

Background: iPhone 3G on U.S. AT&T contract. Original 3G stopped working. Apple replaced with a "5k" serial no. refurb that came with 2.2.1 firmware, 2.30 baseband, but 5.08 bootloader.

To date: Ran Quickpwn 2.2.5-2 with the AT&T Sim installed, followed by Fuzzyband Downgrader. Thus now jailbroken with 2.28 baseband. Yellowsn0w not installed yet, but I know I need to do this.

Question 1: I'm mystified by the activation aspect of unlocking. Since I Quickpwned with the AT&T Sim installed, could I have an activation problem in the UK when I swap out my AT&T Sim for a UK Sim card? I really don't want to get there and find that I'm screwed. For example, I don't know if this earlier post even applies to the iPhone 3G, or unlocking 2.2.1 firmware via Yellowsn0w, but it did concern me: http://www.modmyi.com/forums/3456041-post2.html

Question 2: If I started off (see 1.) on the wrong foot, what is the proper procedure to allow me to use my AT&T Sim problem-free until I get to the UK, and then use a UK Sim problem-free while there? I'm not taking a computer, so if I need to use iTunes there I'm in trouble.

Question 3: Will I need to install the Yellowsn0w toggle for BossPrefs? If so, do I toggle off Yellowsn0w when using the AT&T Sim, and toggle it on for the UK Sim (and should I have the UK Sim installed when I do so)?