Results 1 to 6 of 6

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.


Thread: JailBreak 3.0 an a Mac

  1. #1
    Livin the iPhone Life mr.sparky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    On the open sea
    Posts
    1,326
    Thanks
    597
    Thanked 221 Times in 155 Posts

    Default JailBreak 3.0 an a Mac
    Never mind i Guess it wont work
    Last edited by mr.sparky; 2009-04-06 at 09:15 PM.
    http://i122.photobucket.com/albums/o260/cpjr1979/dc5274181cd827585d4bb6d16bedb210cop.png
    Steroids are yummy

  2. #2
    That is if you want to keep your iPhone 2G unlocked before updating to 3.0 (this was important BEFORE the jailbreak was released).

  3. #3
    Livin the iPhone Life mr.sparky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    On the open sea
    Posts
    1,326
    Thanks
    597
    Thanked 221 Times in 155 Posts

    i think its how to JB on a mac
    http://i122.photobucket.com/albums/o260/cpjr1979/dc5274181cd827585d4bb6d16bedb210cop.png
    Steroids are yummy

  4. #4
    Retired Moderator Poseidon79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    8,264
    Thanks
    819
    Thanked 1,681 Times in 1,159 Posts

    As soon as you finish the "upgrade" process you LOSE your jailbreak so your title needs to be changed

  5. #5
    Livin the iPhone Life mr.sparky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    On the open sea
    Posts
    1,326
    Thanks
    597
    Thanked 221 Times in 155 Posts

    I upgraded my 3.0 the first time I JB
    http://i122.photobucket.com/albums/o260/cpjr1979/dc5274181cd827585d4bb6d16bedb210cop.png
    Steroids are yummy

  6. #6
    Retired Moderator Poseidon79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    8,264
    Thanks
    819
    Thanked 1,681 Times in 1,159 Posts

    Dude... if you have a jailbroken phone on firmware A and upgrade to firmware B it rewrites all the system files and you lose Cydia and Installer. Technically they are still there but inaccessible which is why you lose approx 500MB of data everytime you use the upgrade feature in iTunes on a jailbroken phone.

    via BigBoss:
    First off, you never use “upgrade” on a jailbroken device. If you do that, you automatically lose about 500mb of disk space and never recover it until you finally restore. If you upgrade from 2.0 to 2.0.1 using upgrade button, you lose 500mb. If you then upgrade from 2.0.1 to 2.0.2, you lose *another* 500mb. And this continues until you hit the restore button. The data loss is because Cydia moves your files around to free up space. The moved files become inaccessible but stay on your disk which means you essentially just lose the space. The more apps you had installed in Cydia, the more space you lose.

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •