Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Is my phone jailbroken

What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

Default Is my phone jailbroken
    I am brand new to any apple devices and this probably sounds like the dumbest question but one to which I'm sure there is a very simple answer yet I can't find it.

How do I tell if a phone is jailbroken or not ?

I have 'acquired' an unlocked 16gb iPhone with 1.1.4 (4A102) firmware and 04.04.05_G modem.

Currently I have a non mainstream carrier SIM inserted but no service or WiFi at my present location (not on land at the moment!)

On the screen it has Installer and if I select that I get a whole raft of packages to install, including Cydia, so does that mean it is jailbroken or not ?

If I use iPhoneBrowser for instance and go down to Location/Standard Applications/Stocks Icon, which I'd like to get rid off, it says "Could not find path, Have you successfully used jailbreak" which obviously infers that it isn't.

Surely there is some instant way to tell one way or the other ?

Thanks.

Thanks

Yes, if you have Cydia or installer, it is jailbroken. If iphonebrowser can access any of the files, it is jailborken.

Thanks

So how did you "acquire" this iPhone you know nothing about?

What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

I know what you are suggesting and perhaps 'acquired' was a poor choice of wording. I'm actually a merchant seaman and won it from a Polish guy in a game of cards a couple of nights ago.

Unfortunately he was less than a good loser and the handing over was performed in very bad grace but luckily there were more of us than of them. That being so the moment was deemed inappropriate for indepth questions if you get my drift so I just gave him his back his Sim card and we left before things had a chance to turn ugly !

The phone was set up in Polish and once I'd figured out how to switch to English did a full reset which I understand is about the only way to clear out hundreds of SMS messages.