Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Why is downgrading the baseband dangerous when upgrading isn't?

Default Why is downgrading the baseband dangerous when upgrading isn't?
    So I realize this is a total newb question but I've been reading alot about the fact that Apple doesn't want you to downgrade from 3.0 to 2.2.1.

I never let an answer like that satisfy me because I always want to know why. The best I can figure is it is dangerous to downgrade the baseband. Since 3.0 has a new baseband you can't downgrade to 2.2.1 without downgrading the baseband and for some reason you can't easily downgrade the baseband.

So my question is why is it dangerous to downgrade the baseband but it isn't dangerous to upgrade it?

Livin the iPhone Life seann33uk's Avatar
    Thanks

its not dangerous to downgrade the baseband, it cant be done.

firmwares are not reccommended to be downgraded because the baseband might not be fully compatible with it.
    Being an i can be a lot of pressure. you have to live right up to the small point.

Thanks for your response sean.

I've read posts elsewhere that say that you can downgrade baseband. I'm reading a lot of conflicting information.

That actually makes sense that you can't downgrade to a previous os version when the baseband is a higher version since the two might not play nice with each other.

My real question is why can't you downgrade the baseband. I guess I'm having a metal block because I think of baseband is some type of firmware that you can flash onto a chip. If you can send a newer version of the baseband to a chip why can't you send an older version?

You absolutely CANT downgrade the baseband.

Why: Because there is no way of doing it. Baseband updates come wrapped into the FW and as of yet, no method of the iphone accepting/overwriting a newer baseband with an older one has been found.

Quote Originally Posted by cpjr View Post
    You absolutely CANT downgrade the baseband.