Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Best firmware to install on iPhone 2G?

Question Best firmware to install on iPhone 2G?
    I have a 1st gen iPhone that I've been using for about 1.5 years, factory installed v1.0.2 firmware so I knew it would be unlockable with no problems (at the time, v1.1.3 and later software were still touch and go). Anyway, I have some experience in jailbreaking/unlocking something like a dozen iphones for people (including myself) using software such as Anysim, Apptapp, Pacay, iBrickr, Ziphone, etc.

I had installed dozens of 3rd party apps through Installer (before App store even existed) and used/ing T-mobile all this time, so I've been pretty successful so far. However ...

Just yesterday my phone kept booting to the yellow triangle, requesting iTunes assistance, and I could not get it to full boot. I tried connecting with Winscp, iBrickr, no dice. I tried reinstalling just certain portions of software to unlock again (trying to avoid firmware reformat), but no luck. At the minimum, I wanted to see if I could backup all the data on the phone to some folder and try to put it back later; but no luck

So I bit the bullet and reinstalled firmware, deciding to upgrade while I'm at it to v1.1.4 which has a few improved features. Before I spend the next 6 months restoring all my customizations and apps (not to mention having lost ALL my contacts, calendar info, notes, youtubes, etc.), I would like to assess the best options.

Questions:
    1. Should I leave at v1.1.4 for any reason?
    2. I read that I would have to upgrade to at least v2.0 firmware to use App store apps. Is this true?
    3. If so, should I upgrade to Just v2.0 ... or should I go the extra mile and upgrade to v2.2.1 (or something inbetween)?
    4. I could really use some expert guidance here on pros and cons of just which firmware I should use for the following criteria:
    a. Stability - I don't want any more crashes and data loss.