Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Going To Buy An Unlocked Iphone 3G

Default Going To Buy An Unlocked Iphone 3G
    Hi,

Going to buy an unlocked 3g Iphone since my career network is not AT&T.
    I have a doubt and my question is:
    If the phone is already unlocked, can I jailbreak it??
    or Unlocked and jailbreak is the same stuff?

Sorry for my ignorance, I'm just learning

Thanks in advance!!

No they are not the same thing. If it is factory unlocked, which I doubt since those are super expensive, then you can still jailbreak it, just use Quickpwn.

If someone manually unlocked it with yellowsn0w, then it would already be jailbroken.
    If I helped you, then hit the "Thanks!" button please.

Quote Originally Posted by Soodeh View Post
    I can't find Cydia on app store

3. The Following User Says Thank You to NeoNightmareX For This Useful Post:

Pochoco (2009-03-08)

The third method of 'unlocking' is a piggyback SIM which are notoriously unreliable.

You are far better off buying a 3G locked to AT&T and unlocking it yourself using YellowSn0w.

Which network do you want to use it on?
    He who asks a question looks foolish for 5 minutes. He who doesn't ask a question remains foolish forever.

5. The Following User Says Thank You to confucious For This Useful Post:

Pochoco (2009-03-08)

Thanks for the info!

Quote Originally Posted by confucious View Post
    The third method of 'unlocking' is a piggyback SIM which are notoriously unreliable.

You are far better off buying a 3G locked to AT&T and unlocking it yourself using YellowSn0w.

Which network do you want to use it on?
    I have T-Mobile, look like I'm going to follow your recommendation. Thanks!!
    Last edited by Pochoco; 2009-03-08 at 05:17 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

You do know that it will not work on 3G in the USA?
    He who asks a question looks foolish for 5 minutes. He who doesn't ask a question remains foolish forever.