Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Anyone wanna help a dummy?

Default Anyone wanna help a dummy?
    Hi all! I am new to iphones and this site.

I told my husband I wanted an iphone and he did some "research" and bought me one off ebay (version 1.1.1). We live in Canada and Rogers is the only carrier that the iphone works on. The phone he got me is unlocked and jailbroken (?) and all I did was pop my sim card into it and it works great. However when I plugged it into our computer (Apple OSX 10.4) and itunes didn't recognize it so we had to downgrade itunes to a previous version and now everything is fine.

Now that I've been using the phone for the last month (quite happily) I want to upgrade it so that we can use the newest itunes and that I can access the app store.

Here is where the problem lies, my husband says I cannot upgrade the phone because it will "brick" the phone rendering it useless so I have not touched it. ALSO, the reason he bought me one off ebay and not from Rogers is because the iphone is a older version and this uses the Edge network (not accessible from Rogers) thus we do not need a data package because I use no date at all, I only use wifi (which is totally fine with me).

Does anyone know if I can upgrade the phone to a new (or newer) version without "bricking" it, and without connecting me to rogers data usage and being able to use the newest itunes? If you have step-by-step instructions that would be great because I looked all over this site and all I can come up with is some really technical stuff that leaves me confused.

He loves my phone and wants one now, but is unwilling to get one from rogers, he does not want to pay for data when wifi is fine for me.

Thanks to anyone who is willing to help.

A Fargo.
    Canada

iPhone? More like MyPhone calingasan's Avatar
    Thanks