Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: My 1.1.4 Unlocked / JB iPhone Needs Restore

iPhone? More like MyPhone Bigperm26's Avatar
    Thanks

Default My 1.1.4 Unlocked / JB iPhone Needs Restore
    Bear with me guys and gals, I'm pretty new to all this and bought this unlocked and jailbroken iphone on ebay a while again. It's 1.1.4 and my SP is T-Mobile. I was watching a vidoe today while getting ready to leave the Hospital (wife just had a new baby girl...YEAH!) and my iPhone shut down. Every time I try to boot it up (turn it on) I get the icon that asks me to connect iTunes. I connect and it tells me I must restore it. No other options?? I'm using iTunes 7.2.6.9.

I figure if I have to restore I may as well upgrade to 2.0.2. I'm using Windows Vista. Will I loose everything when I restore?

I tried searched the guides but I didn't see anything that mentioned what hapens when I restore.

Sorry for the newbie questions...thanks for any and all help!

Yes you are going to lose everything.

Thanks

I restored it...it only let's me get to Emergency Calls now. I guess I'll research how to go from here. It's 1.1.4 locked now I assume. Use QuickOwnRC3 now?

Use quickpwn for mac or pc. This will jailbreak your iphone and activate it. blog.iphone-dev.org

Thanks

Ok, I'm confused. I want to upgrade to 2.0.2 but I have 1.1.4 firmware. Since I'm T-Mobile, do I need to unlock it first before using Quickpwn? The QuickpwnRC3 says only for 2.x versions of firmware. Since my iPhone is wiped clean and restored can I just dl the newer firmware from this site and use that?

Sorry, total newbie...thanks for any help!

Ok, I used Ziphone to activate and jailbreak, but I still can't unlock it. It's still 1.1.4. How do I upgrade it to 2.0.2 so I can unlock it with Winpwn? I DL the firmware...how do I get it on my phone? Do I use itunes? I'm currently using iTunes 7.6...
    Last edited by Bigperm26; 2008-09-02 at 03:47 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost