Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Noob here - Where to start?

Default Noob here - Where to start?
    Hey guys,
    I just bought a used iPhone on eBay (not 3g), and while I'm waiting on it to get here I thought I would start learning what I could do with it. I'm pretty experienced in the cell phone modding realm. I've hacked Moto Linux phones (A1200, etc) like crazy (custom fw, software, overclocking, etc) and I've done similar with Blackberries (yes, i'm betraying my BB brothers - they hate u guys over at the BB forums btw lol), but I'm completely unfamiliar with the iPhone and Apple software. And if theres one thing I've learned its that you can't learn too much before you attempt something new.

Is there a definitions thread where I can learn some of the basic terminology used around here?

I'm not sure what FW my iPhone will have when it gets here, but I would like to jailbreak the phone and unlock it to work on T-Mobile (I'm probably just going to keep my $20 data plan that I was using with my BB Curve) and get the firmware up to 2.0 (unless theres a reason I should go with an older FW).

I can follow directions well and I'm an IT professional so given the right information hopefully I won't have *too* many problems.

I'm working off of Windows XP btw. Whats my first steps? Is there a list of 'Must Read' threads somewhere?

Thanks in advance guys!