Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: one last plea for help..

Default one last plea for help..
    Hi guys I wont bore you with the history but I have searched a lot of threads on a lot of sites but being a newbie I get bogged down in tech speak and I am unsure of what to do as I do not want to ruin my iphone. I have windows XP, an old (2G?) iphone that came pre unlocked and jailbroken running 1.1.4. I would be very very appreciative if someone could answer the following questions:

1) If i click restore on itunes with my iphone connected what will it remove, is it just apps and music or will I lose email configs and phone contacts etc. Also will it reverse the unlocking and jailbreaking thats already occured?

2) why do so many people talk about downgrading from 2.0 to 1.1.4 when surely 2.0 is the newer (and better?) version of the software.

3) due to installer playing up I want to restore my iphone. Is it worth updating my firmware at the same time (I'd like app store and cydia) to 2.0? Is it still possible to jailbreak 2.0?

4) finally is there a written or video guide for restoring and updating my firmware to 2.0? Ive heard about all of these programs (pwned, Iliberty, zipphone) but am not sure which to use.

please help

Thanks

1) if u plug into itunes, u will lose the music unless its urs and selected to be synced to ur iphone, and you wil lose your jailbroken apps. what will stay is your contacts, texts, and other vitals
    2) people talk about downgrading from 2.0-1.1.4 because it is not as stable as 1.1.4 and also because some people want there old jailbroken apps which havnt been ported to 2.0 yet.
    3) Yeah you can jailbreak 2.0 (not to be confused with the latest 2.0.1) with pwnage tool, and do a custom restore. Just upgrade and see if ya like it if not there are downgrading guides all of this place :-p
    4) Search the forums before ya post, its in here im tellin ya.

(hit thanks if i helped :-p)