Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Please help. Brand new iphone. Don't know what to do..

Default Please help. Brand new iphone. Don't know what to do..
    Hey guys. Please forgive my ignorance. I am completely new to this whole thing, and i'm trying to make sense of it all.

I just bought an iPhone on eBay that came factory sealed. The seller said it had firmware version 1.1.2 installed into it.

I just turned the iphone on for the first time and I get this message telling me to "activate my phone" with an image of earth in the background. I slid the emergency call button and entered in some digit that led me to a field test screen. I then went to versions and next to firmware version it says: 04.01.13_G. I don't know what any of this means, obviously.

I tried connecting it to iTunes but it doesn't seem to recognize the iphone.

All I want to do at this moment is to be able to bypass that "activate phone" message and go into the main menu. I also want to downgrade to 1.1.1 so that I could unlock it with a GSM carrier of my choosing.

What should I do to get started? I know you're going to direct me to Google and the search feature and whatnot, but if you're going to do that, can you please at least direct me to the proper tutorials or threads that I should read? There are sooooooooo many threads, and it can be overwhelming for a newbie like me.

Thanks

Chris Reznor

Welcome to the iPhone community. Modmyifone has a ton of threads regarding this. First off since your phone is new it most likely cannot be unlocked. The newest phones come with a new bootloader that make it so the phone cannot be unlock through software (currently that is). Link located below.

http://modmyi.com/forums/showthread.php?t=18407