Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: A Quick Guide to Making Profit in Cydia

Lightbulb A Quick Guide to Making Profit in Cydia
    Hi there! As a big fan of ModMyi for a few months now I feel that it's about time I contribute! I don't have a huge knowledge base in programming, but I'm currently studying business in college. From a business and economic perspective, the "Cydia" market is incredibly interesting.

To Name a Few Interesting Points:
    Large competition among sellers.
    Generally, Consumers are , tech saavy and well aware of what makes smart buying decisions.
    The market produces many different communities and groups (eg: Modmyi) and allows consumers to to communicate directly with developers.
    And of course, Piracy.

As I watch the release of many of these themes and tweaks (I will refer to these collectively as iMods), I've seen some really easy steps developers are missing which could really help increase the success of their products, and in turn, profit.

For these steps/tricks, I'll be refering to a theme for the sake of simplicity. However, this is largely applicable to tweaks as well.

Brainstorming
    To begin, one of the first things you need to ask yourself is if you are trying to make money or not. For you is this a simply side hobby? An opportunity to make some money? Or a combination of the two? If you are trying to make a profit, how much?

Be realistic! Rememer that while there are some very successful themes in the Cydia market, only the best of the best draw even slightly significant amounts of profit. Even then, don't expect to be rolling in it. Not even Saurik is making significant amounts of money, and he RUNS cydia. (Saurik talks Cydia revenue model, Cydia for Mac, and more)
    Be brutally honest with yourself here, you really don't want to waste your time.