Results 1 to 13 of 13

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.


Thread: questions before selling jailbroken iphone4

  1. #1
    Default questions before selling jailbroken iphone4
    What would I need to do to my phone (to remove contacts, emails, music, etc.) before selling it? I would rather it stay jailbroken as I assume that would be more valuable?
    Thanks in advance..

  2. #2
    Livin the iPhone Life jkmonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    1,433
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 254 Times in 245 Posts

    Restore, set up as a new phone and rejailbreak.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to jkmonkey For This Useful Post:

    tdbohannon (2010-10-05)

  4. #3
    Thanks. So as long as OS hasn't been upgraded, I can still use jailbreakme.com, correct?
    Sounds pretty straightforward.

  5. #4
    Livin the iPhone Life jkmonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    1,433
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 254 Times in 245 Posts

    Yes as long as you can restore to the same firmware you are on now then you can use jailbreakme again.

  6. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by jkmonkey View Post
    Restore, set up as a new phone and rejailbreak.
    Would.....

    Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings. Erase everything he wants to erase and keep the jailbreak?

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to allanes5 For This Useful Post:

    tdbohannon (2010-10-05)

  8. #6
    That would be easier (if someone can assure me it would work)..
    I have backed up my blobs? At least that what it says when I open Cydia. So I guess I can research how to restore to a firmware other than the most recent, but allanes5's method certainly seems quicker.

  9. #7
    Allane's method should SCREW up the jailbreak, at least when I did that back on 3.1.2 it did and I didn't have ultrasnow even on it

  10. #8
    Erasing all contents in settings will make ur iPhone stuck on the apple logo. It won't ruin it, just make it a longer process because then u would have to go and restore anyways.

    Also, Allene didn't say that it's his method, he was simply asking if it would work

    Follow the instructions here
    http://www.ihackintosh.com/2010/08/downgrade-ios-4-0-2-to-4-0-1-for-iphone-4-iphone-3gs/

    U don't need to open tinyumbrella until the end (to kick it out of recovery). If u open tinyumbrella and change tr hosts file at the same time, it may cause problems
    Last edited by Waleed786; 2010-10-05 at 08:17 PM.

  11. #9
    Livin the iPhone Life jkmonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    1,433
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 254 Times in 245 Posts

    Never ever erase all content and settings on a jailbroken phone. You'll get stuck at the apple logo and be forced to restore anyway.

  12. #10
    iPhone? More like MyPhone
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Mtl, Canada
    Posts
    190
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    yea erasing content will freeze the phone and u would have to reinstall the firmware.

    just go to settings and delete all your stuff from there. email acconunts, itunes account, delete safari stuff + bookmarks. for contacts not sure. prly an app for that. or u can do it the longer way. etc.

    or you can do it the way the other people said, just i wouldnt risk it since there is no jailbreak out atm in case u srew up and u need to update.

  13. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by jkmonkey View Post
    Never ever erase all content and settings on a jailbroken phone. You'll get stuck at the apple logo and be forced to restore anyway.
    Thanks for the info. Had no idea.

    Would

    Settings > General > Reset > Reset All Settings

    also cause the phone to get stuck on apple logo?

    Quote Originally Posted by Waleed786 View Post
    Also, Allanes didn't say that it's his method, he was simply asking if it would work
    Exactly. Thanks Waleed786
    Last edited by allanes5; 2010-10-05 at 11:49 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

  14. #12
    Drinks the Kool Aid Captinsmooth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,322
    Thanks
    131
    Thanked 351 Times in 199 Posts

    Quote Originally Posted by allanes5 View Post
    Thanks for the info. Had no idea.

    Would

    Settings > General > Reset > Reset All Settings

    also cause the phone to get stuck on apple logo?



    Exactly. Thanks Waleed786

    No it won't get stuck, it will just reset all the phones settings (that won't erase what you want). The only way is to restore to 4.0.1 and rejailbreak it.
    This post infers no rights and is provided as is.

    Click here to follow me on twitter

  15. #13
    There is a cydia file that will delete all contacts on the phone, I believe it's called deleteContacts or something

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •