Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: iPhone 4 going into "Safe Mode" every 5 mins because of Cydia!!! HELP PLEASE!!

Default iPhone 4 going into "Safe Mode" every 5 mins because of Cydia!!! HELP PLEASE!!
    This is my first post guys and I'd appreciate it if someone can offer a resolution. I downloaded an FindmyI from Cydia...shortly after Springboard began to crash and place me in "Safe Mode". I restarted the phone, problem still occurring. I removed the last five apps from Cydia, beginning with FindmyI, and it continues to go into safe mode. I downloaded Crash Reporter, and it states the root of my problems is Cydia but I don't see a specific application in the extensions.

So by process of elimination, I'm assuming that I need to do a restore. I recently jailbroke my iPhone so I'm still learning on how to use Cydia, etc etc. My question is, is it possible for me to restore my phone without having to update to 4.0.2 through iTunes? I don't mind losing all of the applications I currently have on my phone both through Cydia and Apple Store...I'll just download them again if I have to, I just need to get this restored and running on 4.0.1. THANKS in advance for all of the help...

--I'm using Windows Vista if that's needed to know for resolution purposes.

iPhone? More like MyPhone mitchell209's Avatar
    Thanks

Caching Apple's Signature Server - Jay Freeman (saurik)

You need to patch your hosts file, then restore to a 4.0.1 firmware.

See, I tried doing that but I don't know how to get into the folder that has the .ipsw file for 4.0.1 after i click "Shift" and "Restore"...I googled around to find out how to but couldn't find anything...

Actually I just found the folder its supposed to be in however, there's no .ipsw under "iPhone Software Updates" folder...I've never used another computer besides this one to sync my iphone so I'm not sure why there isn't a file...