Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: cannot get 3g into dfu mode

Default cannot get 3g into dfu mode
    Hi.

I am trying to downgrade from ios4.0 as my 3G is sooo slow now.

I need to get my phone into DFU mode but no matter what I try it doesn't work. I can't even get the screen to go black when it's plugged in.

I have managed to get it to go black when turning on and then i plug the cable in, the apple logo comes on and it connects as normal.

Any help wwould be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
    Mark

iPhone? More like MyPhone Bassface's Avatar
    Thanks

I think you are getting DFU mode confused with restore mode. But before anything, I must inform you that unless you saved your shsh blobs, you will not be able to downgrade even if you do get it into DFU. Do you have your shsh blobs?
    If this was helpful, or even if it gave you a laugh, click the Thanks button!

Hi.

I don't think I'm getting them confused but then again I'm new to all of this.

I have read that I have to get into DFU mode to downgrade. I have just managed to get it into Restore mode but I carried out the instructions for getting it into DFU.

Also, as I am new to this I don't know what shsh blobs are other than an ammusing name. I have downloaded the older firmware as per this link http://lifehacker.com/5572003/how-to-downgrade-your-iphone-3g%5Bs%5D-from-ios-4-to-ios-313[/URL]

So I suppose the answer to your question would be no, unless somehow i saved them without knowing it. Where would they be saved automatically or would I have had to select a location?

Sorry for silly questions but I just don't know.

Thanks in advance
    Mark

Thanks

You used to be able to downgrade simply by using DFU mode, but that doesn't work anymore since now Apple has to sign every restore. SHSH blobs are files that tell apple that it is ok to restore, but it doesn't sound like you have them... Sounds like you're going to have to stay where you are... Sorry.