Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Need help with purchasing a 3GS iPhone

Default Need help with purchasing a 3GS iPhone
    I am trying to upgrade my iPhone 2G to the 3GS due to the drop in prices and release of the 4G iPhone. I am very new to the 3GS and I have no idea what to look for when purchasing one.

Can you please advise me on what specs/firmware/model to purchase when getting a 3GS for use with 3.1.2/3 or even OS 4.0?

Note: I would want to Unlock & Jailbreak the phone for use with T-Mobile, I will also be using Windows to unlock or a “professional” if it seems too hard for the 3GS.

Livin the iPhone Life
    Thanks

So you are wanting to buy a used one from like craigslist since you are using t-mobile anyways? If you look on your local craigslist there are usually a lot of jailbroken/unlocked ones.

I am getting it from craigslist, but many times, the cheaper ones are the non-unlocked/jail broken ones.

That's why I'm looking for tips here so I can do it myself, or take it to a "professional" on craigslist.

Livin the iPhone Life
    Thanks

A 3Gs with 3.1.3 can be jailbroke using Spirit and then unlocked using the new version of Ultrasn0w. As far as I know there isn't a jailbreak for a 3Gs on iOS 4 tho yet.

Quote Originally Posted by ianbroste View Post
    A 3Gs with 3.1.3 can be jailbroke using Spirit and then unlocked using the new version of Ultrasn0w. As far as I know there isn't a jailbreak for a 3Gs on iOS 4 tho yet.
    So any iPhone 3GS can be unlocked like this? I was told that the model/modem firmware/production date matters, or is that old news?

iOS has been jailbroken with Apple computers. Windows version should be out soon.

iPhoneaholic
    Thanks