Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: iphone 4gb 1st gen

Question iphone 4gb 1st gen
    i have just got a hold of the smaller jesus phone but it says it has been unlocked and jailbroke but my question is if u or anyone u know has or had one of the 4gb 1st gen and if you liked them. im new with this stuff so is there a way to upgrade the 1st gen to a 2nd or how does that work. next question is t mobile better than at&t for the unlocked iphone like on price and quality service. and one last one i just purchased a rebel turbo sim and am wondering if it works good if you have tried one.
    so any input appreciated hope i put this in the right forum sect.

Well if you have the 1st gen, you cant just upgrade. You would have to go to AT&T and get a 3G plan instead of an EDGE plan. And I cant speak for experience with network, but with AT&T, you can just upgrade whenenver you feel like. If you have T-Mobile, you will have to wait for an unlock until you would be able use your phone on the new firmware...

Also, if you have a first gen, there's no need for a turbo-sim. The phone unlock is very stable.

well i dont have any sim card right now so i had to get one and for now i didnt wont a phone plan i just wanted it for the other stuff. the phone when i turn it on says insert sim card to activate so is it true that if i have a sim in the phone it will activate and i can use everything besides the phone.
    sorry if im unclear just say if i am i would like to figure this stuff out

also to clarify i bought this on ebay and it had no plan no sim and said it was unlocked and jailbroke.
    Last edited by lil sin; 2009-08-15 at 05:17 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

If you hactivate/jailbreak it, you won't have to have a sim card in the phone for it to work with everything else.

Quote Originally Posted by lil sin View Post