Results 1 to 8 of 8

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.


Thread: should i restore my JB phone before updating to 3.0?

  1. #1
    Default should i restore my JB phone before updating to 3.0?
    i have jailbroken at least 12 iphones and all have asked me if they should restore to factory settings before updating to 3.0 to prevent apple from detecting that there phone is jailbroken and brick during the update. and i don't want to tell them yes if there is no need to. so any advice from anyone would be appreciated. graci

  2. #2
    My iPhone is a Part of Me
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Central PA
    Posts
    521
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts

    I definitely would.

  3. #3
    i would, always start clean. Also do not syn anything untill post jailbreak and unlock

  4. #4
    thank you kindly, ill spread the word like swine flu

  5. #5
    My iPhone is a Part of Me lach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    516
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 82 Times in 67 Posts

    Its best to always restore to a <b>new</b> iPhone if that makes sense, so never restore a jailbroken device to a backup. you lose around 500mb of data space on your iPhone, so if your going to upgrade, fully restore to whatever firmware you are currently on, and then upgrade to 3.0

  6. #6
    I jailbroke my iphone with the QuickPwn tool and was told all I have to do is update to the 3.0 upgrade, nothing about restoring it back to standard before hand?

  7. #7
    Wait, so I'm losing memory every time I restore my phone doing the following process? Take all Cydia packages out manually, sync my phone/backup, put in DFU mode, restore phone, set up as new phone, right click iPhone and click 'restore from backup - Dizzy iPhone'.

    ???

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Dizzy714 View Post
    Wait, so I'm losing memory every time I restore my phone doing the following process? Take all Cydia packages out manually, sync my phone/backup, put in DFU mode, restore phone, set up as new phone, right click iPhone and click 'restore from backup - Dizzy iPhone'.

    ???
    no I'm pretty sure you are misunderstanding, You lose space because jailbreaking takes up space each time you jailbreak, but the jailbreak/restores constantly overwrite each other. Hope this helps

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •