Results 1 to 6 of 6

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.


Thread: Deleting everything on my iPhone

  1. #1
    Default Deleting everything on my iPhone
    I know that this question must have been answered somewhere before so forgive me if I am repeating. I am salivating at the thought of the new iPhone 3GS. I already own a jailbroken 3G which I will want to sell when I get the 3gS. How do I restore my existing 3G to full factory settings and delete all my contacts, music, photos and downloaded programs etc so that who-ever buys my phone has no access to any of my info?

    I look forward to hearimg from someone.. Thanks

  2. #2
    put it in DFU mode connect to iTunes and do a standard restore with apples ipsw.

    then when itunes asks set it up as a new phone!
    simple
    Let it ultrasn0w let it ultrasn0w let it ultrasn0w

  3. #3
    iPhone? More like MyPhone beav626's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    263
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    not to hijack this thread but I am trying to do the same thing. My phone is unlocked and jailbroken. I want to clear all my data off but keep the benefits of the unlock and jailbreak.


    What do I need to do?

  4. #4
    My iPhone is a Part of Me iGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    539
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 63 Times in 58 Posts

    Beav

    As you've got a 2G iPhone it'll be easy. There's no problem unlocking/jailbreaking a 2G regardless what FW you were on beforehand.

    I'd restore as a new phone via iTunes to 2.2.1 then go through the UL/JB process.

  5. #5
    Wouldn't settings->general->Reset->Erase all content and settings
    do what you want?
    He who asks a question looks foolish for 5 minutes. He who doesn't ask a question remains foolish forever.

  6. #6
    iPhone? More like MyPhone beav626's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    263
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Quote Originally Posted by confucious View Post
    Wouldn't settings->general->Reset->Erase all content and settings
    do what you want?
    Thats what I thought

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •