Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Using a Europen Iphone with USA At&T

What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

Default Using a Europen Iphone with USA At&T
    Is this possible? A customer of mine has a family member who bought a iphone from Europe and is now selling it for cheap. Would i be able to take it to At&T to set up an account or an i wasting my money? I planed on jail breaking my iphone anyways, but sence im still new to i-modding i don't want to get myself into bigger mess then i need to..

thanks!

Thanks

If it's a 2g iPhone and they already have Att service, they can put their ATT sim into the phone and activate in iTunes. Not sure what the procedure would be for a 3g.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to bhz1 For This Useful Post:

skorpia (2009-05-07)

Thanks

iPhones are not region locked. With ANY iPhone if you pop any AT&T sim into it it will activate in iTunes and be useabl.

I am from the UK and have never used AT&T, but from what ive read AT&T clock onto the fact that your using an iPhone and charge you more for it - the only thing to be wary of.
    The Original Autobot of MMi
    Jesus couldn't turn into a fire engine

LOL -> "Winterboard does not interfere at all with my performance."

Suck it up, Sucker

5. The Following User Says Thank You to reeko For This Useful Post:

skorpia (2009-05-07)

What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

awesome - ill give it a try and let you guys know

without mod iphones are locked to their original carriers or are sold for ($700) unlocked by apple in some places where it is required.

Phones are locked to a carrier. A phone locked to O2 in the UK will not work on AT&T in the USA.

'Europe' is a large place with amny different countries.
    If the phone was bought in Italy or Belgium it will be unlocked, if it was bought in France they have to sell an unlock code, if requested, after 6 months. Unlocking is illegal in Portugal but not, AFAIK in any other country in the EU.