Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: New laptop

Default New laptop
    Hello,

I currently own an iPhone 3G (16G) with firmware 2.1 and jailbraked with (i think pwnage).
    My old laptop ran iTunes 7 (or another version, at least not the latest one), but my laptop gave up on me. So I purchased a Macbook White (though it has yet to be delivered >.>) and I was wondering:

- will connecting the iphone to a newer itunes cause any problems (because i jailbraked it)
    - if i want to put songs on it (through itunes) on the new laptop, do i really have to erase my old songs and put new ones on it (from the new itunes on my soon-to-have macbook white)?
    - what happens with stuff like calender/contacts/ messages; etc....?
    - is their a way to backup everything of my iphone (settings, apps, messages, jailbraked things,...) to the mac?

I hope I was a little clear in asking my questions (as english isn't my primary language; and i'm not good at grammar) and my apologies if this isn't the right place to ask these questions.

Thanks in advance,
    Loxkun
    help me with my school survey ! ^_^
    http://www.modmyi.com/forums/chit-ch...ml#post3767281

I don't think the version of iTunes matters with jailbroken iPhones, I have a range of firmwares all jailbroken and they work on a range of computers and os's with no problems.

In this situation I would have taken the hard drive out of the old laptop (normally there is a hatch underneath to get at them), and depending if it is a 1.8" or 2.5" hard drive I would buy the required enclosure off ebay that will hold the drive and let you connect it via usb to a computer - then you can recover your music and other data - Plus you will have a handy external hard drive for moving files about with
    iPhone 5s 64gb iOS 7
    rMBP 15" 16gb 500gb
    @c0ff33a and @PhoneMainiac

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Loxkun View Post
    Hello,