Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Erased all contents and settings on 3g MB046LL/A

Unhappy Erased all contents and settings on 3g MB046LL/A
    Bought 3g iPhone Model MB046LL/A ("Unlocked, Bluetooth Enabled, Calendar, Color Screen, Email Access, GPS, Internet Browser, Java Enabled, MMS Enabled, MP3 Player, Polyphonic Ringtones, SMS-Text Messaging, Speakerphone, Touch Screen, USB Interface, Video Recording iPhone 3G 8GB Cell Phone") on eBay.

Tried to erase previous owner's information and it wouldn't erase with the various reset settings, so, stupid me pressed "erase all contents and settings." But I didn't realize all the ramifications of that. (I'm new to iPhones).

Now (natch) there is no system, only an iTunes icon and emergency status.

What can I do? I hope I can find a mirror to reinstall everything just as I would if I reformatted a HD.

I don't know what program he used to jailbreak it (I use T-Mobile) but I recall it was updated to what I believe was the most recent firmware. 2.2?

What should my next steps be??

plug it into itunes shift restore to firmware 2.2 not 2.2.1 and restore as new iphone and then if that work uses the newest version of qwkpwn to jailbreak n unlock it ....
    i think thats all you have to do

Make sure you download FW 2.2 NOT 2.21
    Restore in iTunes by holding down Shift when you click restore and then select the 2.2 FW.
    Then use quickpwn 2.25 and jailbrake.
    Download YellowSn0w from Cydia and install.
    He who asks a question looks foolish for 5 minutes. He who doesn't ask a question remains foolish forever.

Default iTunes won't let me -- tmobile!
    The SIM card inserted in this iPhone does not appear to be supported. Only compatible SI< cards from a supported Carrier may be used to activate iPhone. Pleaseinsert the SIM card that came with your iPhone or visit . . . .

So now, Gaaaaaa! can you give me MORE advice??