Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Help tethering 3g iphone plz

Default Help tethering 3g iphone plz
    Hello all, first post I hope this is in the right place.

I just got my 3g and recently did a successful jailbreak with version 2.0.2.
    I now have Cydia with terminal as well as 3 proxy. I have created an ad hoc on my pc.

My problem I can't get it to connect to switch to 3g once I open the safari browser on the phone. It just continues to sit on the ad hoc network I created.

I did also put in the socks info into firefox so that isn't the problem.

So frustrated. I thought it was a firewall issue at first, I disabled it
    completely and it worked one time but then could never get it to work again. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

ALSO**** I am very new to this but would like to use the NES emulator I also installed from Cydia. Any good sources someone can PM or email me for ROMs? Thanks so much.

Sean

bump
    Last edited by seanmathes; 2008-09-02 at 07:19 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

I tether through USB rather then wifi and it works perfectly. Here is a guide to do it.

Guide - Tether iPhone over USB.
    Dirty as I wanna be!

I did everything according to the guide but I still can't get firefox to connect to the internet. I did the testing through proxifier and it passes both tests.

The only thing I did notice is that my local area connection is showing as not being connected. What am I doing wrong?

Do I need to create a new network connection? Thanks

Did you make sure you did this step correctly?

Start a command prompt window by going to start - > run - "cmd" without quotes.
    browse over to your folder where you extracted the files and type in the following command without quotes "iphone_tunnel.exe 1080 1080"

Make sure you are running the script in the right directory. If you extracted the files to your desktop your prompt should look like

Cusers\*username*\desktop\iphone_tunnel.exe 1080 1080