Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Another n00b in the scene

Default Another n00b in the scene
    hey guys I'm totally new to the iphone scene and jailbroke my iphone 2g yesterday using Ziphone 3.0. Now I have a couple of questions, so please bear with me.

1) Alternative to itunes?

Itunes has constantly caused my pc to BSOD on me. I know its not because of itunes, but i cant determine the problem even after reinstalling windows. I tried Iphone PC Suite, but it kept giving me the "Connect an Iphone" message

2) How to install apps on the iphone using a windows PC?

I know you can do it via Edge using the Installer app, but can i do it from a PC

3) Reasons to upgrade to 2.01

I dont plan to use a lot of apps, so i wont have any problems. When jailbreaking my iphone using winpwn , it kept rebooting after a "startup script completed" message. So i restored it back to 1.1.4 then used Ziphone 3.0. Its running perfectly fine now. I am willing to upgrade if the FW has noticable improvements. I'm wary of custom firmwares after what happened with winpwn.

Note: I have to do all 2.0 jailbreaking and unlocking tasks using a PC as i dont have wifi so i cant download anysim or anything similar.
    Last edited by aayman_farzand; 2008-08-25 at 08:53 PM.

Thanks

hi
    1. xilisoft i think has an alternative, google http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&c...ip&btnG=Search
    but i dunno if thats gonna fully work
    2. if on older firmware, try ibrickr
    3. i dunno, i like it , but i have a 3G..when i had the 2G , it was cool to be on 1.1.4

Thanks for the advice. Do you know what would be best to upgrade to 2.01? Like i already said, I'm wary of winpwn

quickpwn works well on a 2G iPhone, have done several no problems.

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by aayman_farzand View Post
    Thanks for the advice. Do you know what would be best to upgrade to 2.01? Like i already said, I'm wary of winpwn