Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Phone Not Receiving Email

Default Phone Not Receiving Email
    A couple days ago I bought a new iMac with leopard and set up my gmail account with the email app (on imac) and now my phone doesn't get the email's anymore, even when checked manually. Has anybody else had this problem or does anybody know a possible solution to get the computer and phone to work together?

I'm no expert when it comes to Macs but I would suspect that the email app you are using is MOVING the emails from gmail to your local computer (i.e. downloading the emails to your computer and then deleting them off gmail). Several programs I've used, such as Outlook Express, do this but have the option to leave messages on the server as well.

If this is what's happening, you won't get the emails on your iPhone because your computer already moved them off the server. I could be wrong but here's what I would check. Check your email app to see if it has an option to leave mail on the server OR disable/remove the gmail account from your email app (just as a test) and see if the emails start showing up on your iPhone. That might give you a clue into what's going on...

3. The Following User Says Thank You to mrfusi0n For This Useful Post:

cates044 (2008-07-30)

Quote Originally Posted by mrfusi0n View Post
    I'm no expert when it comes to Macs but I would suspect that the email app you are using is MOVING the emails from gmail to your local computer (i.e. downloading the emails to your computer and then deleting them off gmail). Several programs I've used, such as Outlook Express, do this but have the option to leave messages on the server as well.