Results 1 to 4 of 4

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.


Thread: Why "set up as new" after DFU Restore?

  1. #1
    Default Why "set up as new" after DFU Restore?
    I jailbroke my phone with Ziphone so i read up on how to reverse the process and i was wondering why, after the DFU restore, you would set up as new instead of going to theback up since it has your photos and numbers? Thanks

  2. #2
    Livin the iPhone Life redcard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Scotchland
    Posts
    2,141
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 204 Times in 184 Posts

    Cos more than likely you installed some crap that caused your phone to continually reboot, and restoring from backup will also make you continually reboot
    To live, you have to lie

  3. #3
    Retired Moderator Poseidon79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    8,264
    Thanks
    819
    Thanked 1,681 Times in 1,159 Posts

    Restoring from back-up doesn't just re-write your contacts, texts, and photos. It re-writes all your system preferences and plist files in addition to other things so as redcard said above, it can re-write corrupted files that caused all the same problems before you had to restore.

  4. #4
    Livin the iPhone Life redcard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Scotchland
    Posts
    2,141
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 204 Times in 184 Posts

    yeah, I lost about 4 months worth of sms and a few recent contacts cos i tried to install some crappy lockscreen wallpaper off Customize, and had to restore from new
    To live, you have to lie

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •