Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: iPhone MMS?

Default iPhone MMS?
    Alrightt, I'm a newbie aha.

Sooo I previously had an Samsung Solstice, dumbphone on AT&T. I have the family unlimited texting plan that includes free mms. I got a jailbroken iPhone 2g from my friend thats running 3.1.3 firmware and I found out that it doesn't have mms enabled. Sooo I searched and searched online and came up with some activate mms for 2g 3.1.3 off cydia and Supreme Preferences 3.0. I now have the camera icon and the ability to edit my cellular data network.

Before, I used some at&t mobileconfig from peacefulinsanity and for some reason whenever I left my phone on it kept receiving data putting overages on my account. I figured it was because it was tethering or something so I deleted the profile and got Supreme Preferences. Now I changed my APN for cellular data and mms to wap.cingular. Note that I do have SBSettings and I can turn off data completely, or at least I thought. Sooo I can send and receive mms whenever my data is enabled on sbsettings and it works fine but I check my AT&T data usage and it keeps going up. Whenever I turn data off it stops.

Is there any way for me to send and receive MMS's on my iphone without using data thats outside of my plan? On my old phone I sent and received MMS's all the time without going over at all. I'm 5mb over right now

Thanks for the help. I'm really trying to make this work. I love the iPhone, I just hate the fact that I can't send and receive mms's without killing my data. -___-

No data is always going to be used when sending mms. There isn't away away around that even though it doesn't go against your data charge mms is sent a different way then regular SMS

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Cowboy For This Useful Post:

Freekill94 (2010-10-29)

Sooo even though I could do it for free on my dumbphone, I cant do it free on my iPhone? Regardless of my plan?