Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Would appreciate some help

Default Would appreciate some help
    Hi all

I am an absolute newb to this malarkey and am simply trying to fix my iphone 3gs arg!

Background - Never, jail broken or downgraded before. Have always let apple dictate my life and have update as normal through iTunes. Phone is out of warranty but I have never had any problems. I am on 02 in the UK.

I installed firmware 4.3.5 and ever since the signal started playing up. At first it was intermittent, then I could only use 2g (if 3g was on I would have no signal whatís so ever), then it completely died.

I have installed and activated a new sim which works fine in another phone. So my next port of call was the firmware.

I have tried to download and install 4.3.3/4.3.2/4.3 and I am sure I have followed the method to the tee. My host file is edited with 74.208.105.171 gs.apple.com, I have pinged gs.apple.com and its connecting to that IP. I am in DFU mode and not recovery.

However, whenever I try to restore the firmware file I get the same (3194) error in Itunes. Where am I going wrong here? Everything else on the phone works fine I just canít get any signal from this handset.

Any advice on how I move forward would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks

Laurie

Quote Originally Posted by morat121 View Post
    Hi all

I am an absolute newb to this malarkey and am simply trying to fix my iphone 3gs arg!
    arg!
    and welcome to the malarkey!

Background - Never, jail broken or downgraded before. Have always let apple dictate my life and have update as normal through iTunes. Phone is out of warranty but I have never had any problems. I am on 02 in the UK.

I installed firmware 4.3.5 and ever since the signal started playing up. At first it was intermittent, then I could only use 2g (if 3g was on I would have no signal what’s so ever), then it completely died.