Results 1 to 5 of 5

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.


Thread: Downgrade 3GS OS4 to OS3 with Original iTunes 9.2 back up?

  1. #1
    Default Downgrade 3GS OS4 to OS3 with Original iTunes 9.2 back up?
    Hi
    I was originally synching my 3GS with iTunes 9.2 on my Mac Mini (Tiger), then I upgraded to OS4 on my husband's Windows laptop.
    That was a big mistake; I can see no practical benefits in having done so, plus it is really difficult to add or delete content as he and his laptop is so often away on business. Basically, I want to go back to OS3 that I can sync and mess around with on OSX 10.4.3.

    Obviously, I can no longer sync on my Mac but the original back ups are still there. I'm not at all technically-minded, but I wonder...
    If I put my phone into DFU (?) mode, can I then re-install my previous back up from my Mac Mini?

    My concern is that if I try it, iTunes 9.2 will still not accept my phone and I'll be left with a dead device until my husband (and his bloody laptop) return.

    Then again, if I went to Settings/General/Reset/Erase All Content and Settings, would that also erase the OS?

    Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

    Thanks
    Last edited by NinaA; 2011-05-17 at 04:28 AM.

  2. #2
    Retired Moderator iYeow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    13,996
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 2,764 Times in 2,652 Posts

    Erase all contents will put your iPhone into a freezing mode. You can downgrade back to 3.xx if you have the required shsh blob. You can also do a backup restore on the computer which was not used to sync on the IOS 4.xx

  3. #3
    Thanks... I think...

    shsh blob?

    Can you be a bit more specific as to how I should proceed?

  4. #4
    Retired Moderator iYeow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    13,996
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 2,764 Times in 2,652 Posts

    If you downgrade back to IOS 3.xx, after the jailbreak , you can do a backup restore from one of the old backups that was not used on backup restore on the IOS 4.xx ( if you have any in there )

  5. #5
    Retired Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Alhambra, CA
    Posts
    16,904
    Thanks
    137
    Thanked 2,202 Times in 1,924 Posts

    Check for SHSHs for 3.x with TinyUmbrella. Click Save SHSHs and see what the log says. If you don't have SHSHs for 3.x then you cant downgrade to access your backup.

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •