Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Downgrading from 4.0.2

Default Downgrading from 4.0.2
    hi all
    i have received a 3 week old iphone 3gs 16gb and its got the latest software that got uploaded
    ive been searching to try and find a way to downgrade but cant find a way as im not very technical on the phone/laptop

but i cant find a simple enough description
    so would anyone be kind enough to break it done to basics please

thank you very much in advance

Basically it can't be done. Since the phone is new, it has never had the SHSH files stored either locally or thru Cydia. So you're stuck at 4.0.2. How's that for basic lol? :P

well basically its not what i wanted to hear :P
    as im on orange and the phone's on vodaphone :/

Thanks
    Thanked 2,764 Times in 2,652 Posts

Is your iphone new or used ?

Quote Originally Posted by yeow202 View Post
    Is your iphone new or used ?
    it was a used phone, but bearly used

I just bought the iphone 4 and it's on firmware 4.0.2...been trying everything to downgrade...is it impossible without SHSH???
    How can I jailbreak my phone???
    Please help
    Last edited by GhettoB; 2010-08-21 at 01:54 AM. Reason: More info

Quote Originally Posted by GhettoB View Post
    I just bought the iphone 4 and it's on firmware 4.0.2...been trying everything to downgrade...is it impossible without SHSH???
    Please help
    You can't so stop wasting your time trying. Just wait till another JB tool is released. Might be a minute though because I'm sure the Dev Team will wait till 4.1 drops.

Thanks

Dazza, Download tiny umbrella and see what shsh you can grab from Cydia, not apple
    Last edited by iYeow; 2010-08-21 at 03:29 AM.

Yeah I tried tiny umbrella but keep getting error message when restoring 4.0.1. Downgrade...it won't run the downgrade!! Any other ideas?

I will have 2...but iPhone sux without JB!!!