+ Reply

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Manually changing icons for themes?

is a discussion within the

WinterBoard

forums, a part of the

Skinning / Themes Discussion

section;
Hi everyone, I'm a new user. I recently jailbroke my device and was quite excited to explore all the new possibilities available to me, the first being new themes. I
    What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

Default Manually changing icons for themes?
    Hi everyone, I'm a new user. I recently jailbroke my device and was quite excited to explore all the new possibilities available to me, the first being new themes. I installed winterboard + a few themes I liked, but every time I tapped respring, the only thing changed was the wallpaper (maybe the icon text, but usually there was no text at all) so I googled and googled before I found out that the icons may need to be changed manually. I have no knowledge of ssh so the only tool available to me so far is iFile.

Thank you guys for your help!

EDIT: I am using an iPhone 3GS with iOS 6.1.3

King Kong ain't got nothing on me! King_O_Hill's Avatar
    Thanks
    Thanked 16,832 Times in 6,150 Posts

There are hundreds of themes that are iOS 6 compatible. If you are a new user, I don't recommend manual theming, as you can screw things up easily. I would try YouTube on winterboard theming. There have got to be thousands of videos. You can search here for a thread called "iOS 6 theme guide" that can help too.

Good luck and enjoy your new hobby!
    Widget-Weather App Now Available! Also with MyLocation Support!
    Check out the thread here - Widget-Weather
    To install the Widget-Weather app, just go to Cydia and install. This will also remove MyLocation, as it is built in!
    Want to protect your JailBreak! Add this repo http://cydia.myrepospace.com/iLEXiNFO/ & Install "iLEX R.A.T."
    It will allow you to bring your phone back to a fresh jailbroken state!

What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks