Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Activating My Iphone

Smile Activating My Iphone
    I am sorry if this has been covered many times but I am new to this so I apologise up front.

I am from the Uk and am over in the US on holiday and have just purchased an iphone (6th Oct) I want to unlock so I can use my UK (T-Mobile) sim card in it but I am having trouble just getting past the first screen.

I have tried to follow a number of tutorials that I have found while browsering but they all mention a yellow triangle which I don't seem to have on my iphone and many of the tutorials or hacking software needs you to have 1.0.2 firmware but I don't know which firmware is on the iphone as I can't get past the activation screen.

So far all I have done is plug it in and itunes says I need to activate it via ATT which I don't want to do as I have know intension of signing up with att or do you have to at least register the phone with them even if you don't intend to sign-up?

At the moment all I want to do if just get to the main screen so I can set-up the wifi, email etc and start using that, I will work on the sim free once people have cracked the new 1.1.1 release as I would like to use the itunes store on the iphone which I understand is in the latest update.

Any help would be very appericated and I apolgise again if this has been posted many times before I am just very frustrated that I have a $400 paper weight at the moment.

Cheers

Lee
    Last edited by basher36; 10-07-2007 at 07:42 AM.

To determine your firmware version, slide open the emergency call.

enter: *3001#12345#* touch call

on next screen touch versions. If firmware = 03.14.08_G you have version 1.0.2. If its different, I don't know, probably 1.1.1.

Hi Sura,

Thanks for the help, I have done that and get

Firmware 04.01.13_g

LCD Panel ID 7459072.

Cheers

Lee

I'm running 1.0.2 and I'm at 03.14.08_G