+ Reply

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: iPhone 3GS with iOS 6 service problems?

is a discussion within the

Unlocking / Activation

forums, a part of the

iPhone Modding

section;
Hi! Real noob here so I really need your help guys. I just upgrade my iPhone 3GS to iOS 6 and jaillbroke it with redsn0w to get past the "no
    What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

Default iPhone 3GS with iOS 6 service problems?
    Hi! Real noob here so I really need your help guys.

I just upgrade my iPhone 3GS to iOS 6 and jaillbroke it with redsn0w to get past the "no sim detected" thing when activation the phone (and downgrade my baseband from 6.15 to 5.13.04 in the process). I then followed a guide to use ultrasn0w to unlock my phone. It worked great, got service and I was able to receive calls, but after a while, 'No Service' comes and I rarely get service again. And when I did get service, I tried sending an SMS to someone to see if I would be able to. I wasn't able to send it and got a 'Not Delivered' error.

I learned that ultrasn0w won't work on 5.13.04 (even though I got service). If there aren't any possible solutions left, is it possible for me to downgrade my firmware to 5.xx.xx that is compatible with ultrasn0w? I'm not sure where my phone was locked to since this was only given to me, but since I thought it was locked to the carrier that I was already using, I tried using it but got the no sim card error when activating the phone, so I thought that this might not be the carrier it was locked to. I tried another but it also won't work. I'm currently using the one which I thought it was locked to, so is that the reason I got service even though it wasn't supposed to work with my firmware? But then, why do I get 'No Service'?

edit: I can receive and send calls but still can't send SMSs.

EVO
    Thanks