Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: iPhone 3GS - Jailbreaking a "factory unlocked" phone

Question iPhone 3GS - Jailbreaking a "factory unlocked" phone
    Hi,

Here is a tough nut to crack (whodunnit, or maybe I am just a newbie). (Phone details in attached screenshot)

1. Factory unlocked iPhone 3GS iOS 5.0, not jailbroken - I used to use this with multiple SIMs across countries with no problems.
    Then...
    2. Phone develops a problem with the screen, I go to Apple Store, they replace the phone. I restore my older phone's backup onto this and am back in business. I hadn't tried another SIM on this, just the one that I was using most of the time (Airtel, India).
    3. I smashed the stack for fun and profit, and jailbroke using redsn0w on a untethered jailbreak. Somewhere in the guide it mentioned that if you need to maintain your unlock, create a custom IPSW and use the one with NO_BB, and that's what I did. Phone never recovered from an endless "restore" cycle, so entered DFU and used a normal IPSW. Everything went ahead as it should.
    4. I come to the US, try and AT&T sim, no luck (invalid SIM, SIM failure, No service) - tried reboots, toggle airplane mode, etc. No luck. Tried a T-mobile SIM, no luck. Tried my India Airtel SIM on roaming, that continued to work fine.

The above make me conclude that the phone is locked (Is this assumption / conclusion correct?). The question is, did I FUBAR it, or did Apple store replace my earlier phone with a locked model (since they asked me what carrier I was with and asked me for my SIM)? Just so you know, the 3GS was never sold locked in India, unlike in the US.

Questions:
    1. If you look at the screenshot, it mentions "Airtel" even without a SIM in it. Does this indicate something in any way? I do not have another iPhone handy, so if someone else could tell me what it says on factory unlocked phones without a SIM, that'll be great!.