+ Reply

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Downgrade Iphone 3G Baseband to fix GPS without losing unlock? bootloader 5.8

is a discussion within the

Unlocking / Activation

forums, a part of the

iPhone Modding

section;
Hey everyone, I was given an old Iphone 3g when my friend got the new IP4. Because I am a college student and go to a school with ubiquitous wifi,
    What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

Default Downgrade Iphone 3G Baseband to fix GPS without losing unlock? bootloader 5.8
    Hey everyone,

I was given an old Iphone 3g when my friend got the new IP4. Because I am a college student and go to a school with ubiquitous wifi, I set the iphone up with my google voice account (using GV Extensions for SMS and Phone), and it has worked well so far. Basically, I use this as a replacement for my cell phone (which is through sprint and liked to GV) whenever I am on campus and have wifi.

I was given the phone without a sim card. I unlocked using pwnage tool (because I didnt have a sim card so I couldnt activate) and used SAM and push doctor to fix push notifications. In the process, i upgraded the baseband to 06.15.00

This disabled my GPS, but I didnt really mind. However, this same friend gave me his old AT&T Sim card afterwards (inactive) and suggested that I could downgrade the baseband using fuzzyband (because I have bootloader 5.8). He said I could either re-unlock at a lower baseband that would have my GPS working correctly again, or perhaps I could even use his old inactive at&t sim to activate my phone (without a plan, just to get past the emergency calls only screen. I only need wifi for the voip and google voice apps I use).

My questions are (in no particular order):
    1. Can i downgrade my baseband and which one should I do to fix my GPS? Will this break my unlock and/or jailbreak and my push notifications?