+ Reply

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: iPhone 3GS baseband 5.13.04

is a discussion within the

Unlocking / Activation

forums, a part of the

iPhone Modding

section;
Hi all! So I am new to unlocking phones and whatnot. Ive been able to unlock an iPhone 2G and 3G. But I am going to sell my 3G and
    What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

Default iPhone 3GS baseband 5.13.04
    Hi all! So I am new to unlocking phones and whatnot. Ive been able to unlock an iPhone 2G and 3G. But I am going to sell my 3G and buy a 3GS.

The person I am buying the 3GS from has a baseband of 5.13.04, this version is supported by ultrasn0w so I understand how to unlock since it should be the same process as I did when unlocking my iphone 3G.

Now when I unlocked the iPhone 3G i used this custom firmware listed on here:
    **Don't post links to forums/repos that support piracy + no custom firmware links due to copyright**

It worked perfectly fine. So I was looking at that same thread and thinking that I will be doing the same process. Only problem on that website it says that it will ONLY work for oldbootrom?

Is this true? I will only be able to unlock it if it is an oldbootrom? Is there any method to unlock it if it has a newbootrom? If so is it a permanent method or is it just tethered? Thanks
    Last edited by i.Annie; 06-19-2011 at 02:52 PM.

iPhoneaholic
    Thanks

I don't think it was the unlock that depended on bootrom, it was for the jailbreak. Old bootrom could have an untethered jailbreak while new bootrom required a tethered jailbreak. I don't believe this is true any more and new bootrom can be untethered as well. I would just update to a pwned 4.3.3, rather than 4.0 that you linked to.

iOS 4.3.3 Custom IPSW Untethered Jailbroken / Activated Download - iPhone 4, 3GS, iPad, iPod Touch 4G, 3G, Apple TV 2G