+ Reply

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: iPhone 3g on AT&T without a data plan?

is a discussion within the

Unlocking / Activation

forums, a part of the

iPhone Modding

section;
Hey all! So I'm pretty new to this, but I was wondering if it's possible to use an iPhone 3g, on AT&T, without a data plan. That is, internet-wise, I'd
    What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

Hey all!

So I'm pretty new to this, but I was wondering if it's possible to use an iPhone 3g, on AT&T, without a data plan.

That is, internet-wise, I'd only be using wifi (I'd still be texting, calling, etc.)

Thanks in advance!

I've been told that if I just disable 3G and location services, that'll be enough so AT&T doesn't notice I'm using an iPhone without a data plan. Is this true?

Would unlocking my phone on top of that make it any safer?

Thanks

Don't unlock. Yea just turn off 3G and cellular data. Then it would make you use WiFi to use any data. Then AT&T won't notice.
    iPhone 3G 4.2.1 - iPod touch 3G 5.0 Beta 1
    Windows 7 - OS X 10.5.6

3. The Following User Says Thank You to xXrkidXx For This Useful Post:

georbl (06-14-2011)

What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

Oh okay. So I shouldn't even bother unlocking because I'm still going to be using AT&T.

Can I still leave 3G on or will AT&T be able to detect it's an iPhone?

(cause I want to use tethering without a data plan, using mywi... ambitious but is it possible?)
    Yo rkid I actually have the same phone as you - iPhone 3g, 4.2.1 haha.
    Last edited by georbl; 06-14-2011 at 02:20 PM.

iPhoneaholic
    Thanks