Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Is Gevey Sim reliable?

What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

Default Is Gevey Sim reliable?
    Hi, I'm planning to buy an IP4 soon from a friend and I'm just learning about this Gevey Sim thing. I'm on T-mobile so I rely on an unlock, the IP4 is running 4.2/3.10 which to my knowledge is not unlockable right? Will Gevey Sim work?

Also I've read that the Iphone "4S" coming out will be open to t-mobile, is this true?

Thanks

Thanks
    Thanked 2,202 Times in 1,924 Posts

Gevey should work fine. Get Gevey Pro for better performance. It might be more beneficial to find an iPhone 4 that has an unlockable baseband of 1.59.00 but if that's not possible then I suppose stick with what you've got. You can expect for it to be buggy though, it may or may not act up. It's not 100% reliable but it works decently, so I've heard.

The rumor is that the iPhone is expanding to T-Mobile and Sprint, but it's a rumor. Don't expect it to be true, but it isn't necessarily false either. Only time will tell

I've been using a Gevey Pro for a few days. It works well, but the biggest downside is that if you reboot or drain your battery you'll need a way to eject and re-insert the sim. You must do the gevey process after every boot.

Other than that, it works very well, reconnects fine after respring or loosing cell connection. Only a marginal battery life decrease, but that could be other settings/software issues on my phone.

It is a bit of a hassle, but once you get setup you'll reboot rarely. It's currently the only way to unlock a iPhone 4 running newer software/baseband.

Quote Originally Posted by Netcruzer View Post
    I've been using a Gevey Pro for a few days. It works well, but the biggest downside is that if you reboot or drain your battery you'll need a way to eject and re-insert the sim. You must do the gevey process after every boot.