+ Reply

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: jailbroken 3GS iOS upgrade, unlock needed

is a discussion within the

Unlocking / Activation

forums, a part of the

iPhone Modding

section;
Hey guys, I got my 3GS from eBay few months ago. It came jailbroken and unlocked, with Cydia and limera1n installed. Details: iOS 4.1 (8B117) iBoot-359.3.2 (with usbview, couldn't find
    What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

Arrow jailbroken 3GS iOS upgrade, unlock needed
    Hey guys, I got my 3GS from eBay few months ago. It came jailbroken and unlocked, with Cydia and limera1n installed. Details:
    iOS 4.1 (8B117)
    iBoot-359.3.2 (with usbview, couldn't find it in the Windows device manager)
    Baseband 6.15.00

I want to upgrade to the latest possible iOS version while still being able to unlock. Can anyone explain to me what should I do? I have no experience with jailbreaking. Thanks!

My iPhone is a Part of Me keenpois0n's Avatar
    Thanks

open cydia and see what shsh you have..it will say at the top of the page in green writing. 4.2.1 is the latest firmware with an untethered jb out atm, you'll need 4.2.1 shsh to get there

What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

OK, it says SHSH: iOS 4.2.1+, 4.3

Thanks

yep that's good that means you can go to 4.2.1. before you do anything else download tinyumbrella (google it) and save your shsh. now, I believe because your bb is 6.15.00 you can only upgrade/restore to custom firmwares..and the only custom firmware available for 4.2.1 is made via a mac, unless youve got a mac you'll need to download a 4.2.1 ipsw file for 3gs WITHOUT the 6.15 bb. let us know when you're up to that

What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

Yea I saved that SHSH (whatever that is) yesterday with tinyumbrella. Now that application says - All saved SHSHs:
    iPhone3GS 4.1
    iPhone3GS 4.2.1
    iPhone3GS 4.3
    iPhone3GS 4.3.1

Now I'm googling that custom ipsw, without baseband. Let you know as soon as I have it.