+ Reply

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: iPhone a la Brick - The Challenge

is a discussion within the

Unlocking / Activation

forums, a part of the

iPhone Modding

section;
    What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

Default iPhone a la Brick - The Challenge
    First of all, let me congratulate the developers of this site. I have seen a lot of sites in my wanderings over the past 3 or 4 days and this site by far seems the most organized and helpful! Kudos.

Ok, on to my story. I am a father of two and canít afford all the wonderful luxuries that I want and being a software engineer, I tend to look for technology deals that fit my budget and do whatever it takes to make the best of my purchases. My daughter turns 10 in June and for her birthday I bought her an Ipod Touch for $140.00. It had a few issues, but I managed to get it to go. However, I saw an opportunity recently to pick up an iPhone for $200.00. I had no idea the community that was erupting and the problems people were having with their devices. I read the for sale sign for the iPhone and it said bricked. I did a bit of research on the subject and came to understand the terminology and thought, I should be able to fix this and went ahead and purchased this phone. So, as of 3 days ago, I am a proud owner of an iBrickPhone. I have had it displayed proudly on my desk, and people have looked at it asking to give it a try. Unfortunately, being in the brick state that it is in, I canít get it to operate. My daughter knows about the phone and keeps asking me about my progress. My co-workers obviously know about my phone and keep asking about my progress. Unfortunately, the progress has been slow. I have learned over the past 3 days about DFU and Recovery mode. I have learned that people have SSHíd into the phone via WiFi. I have downloaded numerous Firmware and 3rd party packages that help dissect the beast. I am waiting for the big payoff. I have this wonderful piece of tech